When I was considering attending my first company conference the thoughts that went through my head were almost endless. Many of them to do with, could we afford it? Could by husband take the time off work to watch our 3 kids? Do I belong at such an event? Am I too amateur?

This is what happened, I said to my husband, ‘I really think I should go to one of these upcoming conferences. I have two options, a short one day event in Saskatoon late in the Fall (when the weather and the roads are often challenging) OR a full weekend of training in Las Vegas.’ He said, ‘don’t risk the roads to Saskatoon, go to Vegas, plus you have never been.’

Financially it was a bit of a stretch. I had calculated all that I had earned since becoming a stylist with my company and that was only 3 months worth. I would be most definitely breaking even by the end of the weekend. Everything I had earned in 3 months would pay for the flights, hotel, food and other spending. Was it worth it?

During one of the online webinars I had recently listened to (that my company provides weekly) one of the trainers had mentioned that ‘leaders are born at these events’. Not that I saw myself at all as a leader, I was definitely intrigued. I thought my business will only benefit from going to this conference.

So I did it, I booked the flights and my hotel room. Two of my brand new stylists on my team quickly followed suit and booked as well. We were the three amigo’s and we were excited about a girls weekend and learning more about this new company.

When that conference was over, I wasn’t sure what exactly was said, it wasn’t really anything in particular, but I knew I was exactly where I should be. I felt so strong, invincible and completely fearless. My brain was running a million miles a minute and I will never forget  how motivated I was. Nothing was going to stop me and I knew that my success with this company meant improving lives of women around the world.

Since then I have consistently worked my business, was awarded top seller in the company for 2016, most subscribers in the company for 2 years in a row, rank advanced like a champ. Had ups and had downs, but never once lost my motivation. I go to my events every 6 months and plan never to miss one. I have earned trips to Miami, Vancouver, Cancun, Chiapas, Dominican Republic and Peru. And I have to say going to my company conferences would be a big reason how I have found success.

Go to your conferences. Take lots of notes. Stay open-minded. Be willing to grow WHO you are as well as WHAT you do. Be fearless. Have fun. Dance.amazing-work

Leave a Reply

